Skip to content

Not so hot

February 21, 2012

Haven’t been feeling 100% the past few days. Not quite sure why though. For a while I was spiking fevers here and there and feeling like I had a flu coming on, but it never seemed to set in completely. My allergies have been a bit crazy lately, but that’s to be expecting being indoors most of the time without fresh air circulating and a dust allergy (mmmm, snot. bleck).

On the weekend I ended up so tired I felt drunk and ended up falling asleep for a few hours, just from vacuuming my living room. Random bouts of fatigue like this have been hitting me out of nowhere every now and then, but more commonly it’s dizziness and vertigo. I noticed tonight that it seems to come along with reading, so I recorded my eye movements and they are oddly jerky, but it doesn’t quite look like nystagmus. I’ve been getting so dizzy that I have to lay down and try to sleep through it because it makes me feel like I’m going to throw up. I’m also have periods where it feels like everything is slanted upwards, like I’m walking uphill constantly, trying to limp my way out of a hole.  Also, bouts of intense numbness in my hands and feet. Last night I had the bright idea *sarcasm* of trying to take a hot bath by taking breaks out of the hot water into cold air. My back has been a bit sore from carrying books and well, I just miss being able to take a hot bath. This ended up being disastrous. I quickly developed a migraine, extreme weakness, dizziness, numbness in part of my face, my entire left foot, and parts of my hands went completely numb. Today at school, I had to use my cane off an on because my legs were getting very weak very quickly (to the point where they were shaking when I stood) and my balance was very off. I looked like a drunk person. Those that know me were concerned and quick to offer help, but there was a lot of gawking and snickering from the newer students. Honestly, I had kind of forgotten how horrible that feels. It can be incredibly difficult to not get bitter and angry when you see a stranger mocking you for something that is out of your control. I’ve been having a bit of difficulty managing my TN today as well. I haven’t had a full on attack, but I’ve been able to feel dulled jolts of pain throughout the day that lead me to taking my medication early (which helped).

At the moment, I have some dull aching in my legs and back, my legs are shaking, and I’m dizzy to the point of nausea. My legs feel extremely weak, and my back is very, very tense. It feels like….it’s like when you’re shivering really badly, and you tense your muscles to stop the shivering, which makes your back ache. That’s what it feels like in my back right now. I’ve had a mild tremor in my left hand all day that is quieting down a bit at the moment. I have a paper due tomorrow that is not finished yet, so I’m going to have to move everything into the bedroom soon so I can finish the paper laying down using my dictation program. The migraine I had from last night quieted down in the afternoon with the help of a hefty dose of OTC pain relievers, but the base of my skull is aching and feels like there is pressure building inside the back of my head (this morning it was mainly the front of my head that felt like it was going to explode).

I really don’t get what is going on with me right now. I’ll have a day feeling completely fine, then things start hitting me all of a sudden and I really can’t figure out why. I’m not going to bother going to the GP about this as I have my appointment for the EMG and consultation with Dr. Kickass’ colleague coming up fairly soon. Whatever it is, it sucks but I’ve had worse and it will pass.

On a non-symptom related note, I’m compiling a list of misconceptions about MS to try to break down some of the BS there is floating a round out there and would love to get as much input from MSers as I possibly can, so if you have any particular in mind, please feel free to reply or send me a tweet about it. I will be posting the list of fact vs fiction sometime next week when I start my holiday.

From → Journal

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

