Skip to content

Switcheroo

December 18, 2011

For some reason, things have switched sides. Normally my left side is worse than my right, but right now I only have a bit of pins and needles in  my left side (the back of my arm) and some aching in my left hand, but the entire right side of my body is tingling. The only spots that aren’t tingling are the spots that are numb (hands and parts of my feet). Don’t know why, don’t care. Just want it to bugger off soon.

Since I’m on holidays now I can sleep as much as I need to and do more stretching and exercise throughout the day. It’s definitely helping with my legs and balance. Before bed last night my legs were seizing up and in a lot of pain, got a bit wobbly, but I walked a surprising amount entirely on my own yesterday (in the house, of course, always close to something to cling onto if I fell). Fantastic timing to get some balance back, since there is snow on the ground now (FINALLY).

I’ve been going through some of my books for next semester and it’s proving to be quite a challenge. I can’t get through a single paragraph without getting completely lost. I end up mixing up sentences and words, then struggling to find where I was. This is happening in everything I read, but it’s worse with the textbooks since I’m trying to take notes at the same time. When I try to focus all my attention on what I’m reading by reading it out loud, I just end up spouting out gibberish.

My hands feel really weird today. I’m hoping it’s just a combination of the numbness and aching (plus the bit of tremor that has been popping up in the morning), but it feels…I don’t know, it feels like my hands should be extremely clumsy, but they’re nowhere near as bad as they feel. I don’t know if that makes any sense, it’s hard to explain.

I have to call Dr. Kickass on Monday to find out what time my appointment is and where. I’m fairly certain I have the time written down properly, but I’d rather not chance it. Thanks to the big mess last time I called I’m not even sure which number I’m supposed to call anymore. I’ll just call the neurology department, they have all the information for both the neuro clinic and the MS clinic so they should be able to confirm the appointment for me. Now that I’m down to my last bit of tegretol I’m more nervous about the appointment. Part of me is freaking out that she will decide to not give me a prescription for neurontin, or even tegretol. If that happens I am 100% screwed since nothing else controls the TN pain even a little. I’ll have 3 days left of pills after the appointment, but because of the time of year I will not be able to see my GP to get more. I know that this fear is completely irrational, that she will give me a new prescription for tegretol at least, but still. It’s that horrible lack of control that patients go through that’s overcoming me a bit right now.

I’ve got several notes posted on my desktop for various opinion pieces I want to write over the holidays. I will get them up soon, I just want to edit them a bit (unlike my usual entries) and polish them up before posting.

Hope you’re having a great holiday, will post again soon.

From → Journal

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

