Skip to content

I once was blind, but now I see

August 26, 2011

No, I’m not getting all religious (atheist, thank you very much). I had lost my peripheral vision in my left eye for a while but it’s back 😀 I was having a rough day and my vision kept going blurry when I looked left and stayed blurry for a while each time. I took a nap because I was exhausted, and when I woke up I had a black patch in my vision. It slowly started to come back, making my left peripheral vision really dim (like I had a piece of black gauze over part of my eye), but as soon as I got tired or warm, it faded back to black. Every now and then I would get a few other black plotches in the left side of my vision but that is gone now too. To be honest, I always thought losing my vision, even partially, would be terrifying. If I had lost my sight completely I’m sure I would have freaked out, but losing just part of it was really easy to adjust to and was nowhere near as scary as I thought it would be. I don’t want it to happen again, but at least now I’m not as concerned about it as I used to be. I was going to get my eyes checked as soon as my student health plan kicks in (October 1st), but I’m going to hold off and save that coverage until it happens again (if it does, since my plan only covers 1 eye exam).

Today started out kinda rough. I slept really poorly last night thanks to several partial hugs when I was trying to sleep (right side of my chest) and feeling like I was being stung by wasps all up my back. Legs and back are killing me today and I keep getting really intense, painful pressure in my left wrist and pressure, twitching, and spasms in my abdomen and still plenty of wasp sting sensations. Surprisingly though, no cog fog. It’s been a few days since I’ve had headaches or migraines too. Still though, I was miserable most of the day because I was just so bloody sore. Then I got a card in the mail informing me that someone (they tried to be anonymous but I know who it was :P) had made a donation to the MS Society of Canada in my honour as an early birthday present. That perked me up so much, it really made my day, so while I’m still sore I’m in a really good mood. To top it off, tomorrow will mark a full week without any trigeminal neuralgia attacks. Also, I was very happy to find Lena Katina’s new music video last night on youtube (look for “Never Forget” if you’re interested, it’s really good). That song has been stuck in my head all day and I don’t mind one bit.

I’m going to be spending most of the weekend cramming for that first math test and reading through my RN exam study guide (even though that exam is 5 years off, at least it’s an interesting read). Might start on the chemistry or biology material as well, just to get a break from the math cause ugh….it’s mind numbing. I’m going to have to finish up my budget for the first semester as well. I’m a little bit concerned about finances while I’m in school and how it’s going to affect my health (mainly via diet; I’ve already bought a case of ramen…ugh, I’m going to miss healthy food, hopefully I won’t have to give up too much of it). If I can manage to pick up some hours as a tutor and keep working part time I should be OK money-wise, but it will be just another drain on my energy. I guess I’ll just have to wait and see how it all works out.

Have a good weekend!

 

From → Journal

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

