Skip to content

The Aura

July 29, 2011

So, I promised a detailed entry about what my last TN attack felt like, and here it is. It’s a little bit of a blur, but I’ll do my best to give a thorough explanation of it. I’m going to split it up into four stages: the aura, the attack, the high, and the crash; separate entries per stage simply because it would be far too long as a single entry. You may be expecting there be to a bit of embellishment and whatnot in this, but I assure you, there is no exaggeration here. This is what it feels like.

 

I had an aura all day, but it gradually got stronger and stronger as the night went on. At first it felt like a little bit of pressure on my left cheekbone, like someone was pressing on it with their fingers. It stayed like that for most of the day, and I’ve gotten used to having this feeling almost constantly. This can start minutes before the shocks start or days before. Sometimes it goes away on its own without any shocks. The area affected spread slowly until it covered from my cheekbone down to my bottom jaw. Once almost all of the left side of my face was covered in this sensation, it got more intense. It started to feel like it was bruised and someone was pressing on it. It went on from there, getting stronger and stronger, until it felt like I had been beaten with a baseball bat and had a vice squeezing the left side of my face from my cheekbone down. I’ve had this feeling before prior to shocks, and I’ve had the aura get this intense and go away on its own so I left it alone and didn’t take my pill yet. Sound wasn’t bothering me, and I could touch my face without shocks of pain. I had a bad taste in my mouth from some heartburn, so I took some pepto and brushed my teeth. That was the trigger this time.

From → Journal

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

