Skip to content

Heat, school, up-and-coming sections, and a lil surprise for me

July 21, 2011

Today S-U-C-K-S.

I managed to get about 6 hours of sleep last night, but I woke up several times so it wasn’t very good quality sleep. I feel like I’m running on empty today because of it. My legs and arms are sore, it feels like something is pressing on my left cheekbone constantly, and when the wind hits my face my TN acts up (though it’s not as intense as the last attack). It’s very very windy right now, and we’re supposed to get a thunderstorm soon. I’m hoping the weather forecast is wrong, because it’s supposed to hit the high 40C’s, almost 50C this afternoon. I’ve got a lot of tingling in my legs, head, and arms. I have banding around my left wrist again. A little bit of a headache, but I’m attributing that one to the heat (almost 30C right now and it’s not even 10am yet). I’m hoping I’ll be able to just hide in the AC all afternoon and work on the computer until I go to work this evening (thankfully, it’s air conditioned). I’m starting to get a bit of my appetite back (the TN pain and all the drugs I was taking to try to control it absolutely killed my appetite) and my sense of taste and smell are coming back slowly.

Last night I was thrilled to find a contact person for a TN support group in my area. Much to my surprise, I’ve already met the coordinator of this support group. We’ve both done volunteer work for the same organization. Small world. I had no idea that they had TN, and while I won’t be able to make it to many of the support group meetings, knowing that there is someone in my area that I already know that understands what it feels like, and knowing I can talk to them and ask them questions about it is just an overwhelming relief.

I got a few emails from the school last night about some orientation sessions and campus tours coming up this month and in August. I’m really not sure if I’m going to go. I will be going to the orientation and meet-and-greet with my program professors the day before classes start, and already have appointments set up to take care of the few last little bits of paperwork for my loan and my student card. If I end up bored with nothing better to do, I may go to the session in August, if for nothing else but to see how the school looks and is laid out after all that construction. The support staff is once again hinting at a potential strike, but that seems to happen every single year. I have no idea why they are constantly on the verge of a strike, but it’s become like the boy who cried wolf to me. I just don’t take it seriously because they so rarely do it. I’m looking forward to starting though, my first semester I will be taking chemistry, biology, math (ugh), ethics, communications, and a computers class. I’m hoping I can write an exemption test for the computers class because well, I know how to work a computer damnit and was able to exempt out of the last computers class I was supposed to take. If the class times match up and I have the extra cash, I may replace it with a conversational french class (I really need to brush up on my french). Second semester will be advanced biology, advanced chemistry, physics (shoot me now), psychology, sociology, and yet another communications. I have to get a minimum 2.8 GPA to be considered for the bachelor of science program. The only classes I’m a bit worried about are the math, physics, and chemistry classes. The others will be a breeze, but because of my natural lack of math skills I’m going to have to buckle down and really bust my butt in those classes. Chemistry will be the least difficult of those ones though because at least chemistry is interesting.

Now, onto the forthcoming blog sections. The first new section that is going up is the TN information page, followed by an updated about me section with a full list of symptoms, then the MS section, then fibromyalgia. I’m aiming to have the the TN section up and running by tonight or early tomorrow morning. I will also be adding new links to other blogs and resource sites (just added a link to the TN association of Canada’s site).

That’s all for now. If you’re stuck in the same kind of weather I am, for the love of smurf stay indoors as much as you can and avoid any strenuous outdoor activity. Heat exhaustion and heat stroke are not something to play around with. If you absolutely have to go out, drink plenty of water and bring cloths with you so you can wet them and put them on your neck, wrists, etc. Avoid tight clothing, and wear plenty of the strongest sunscreen you can find.

From → Journal

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

