Skip to content

Symptom series

May 21, 2011

Good afternoon everyone, hope you are well. As I mentioned previously, I was writing up a very long entry about various symptoms and things I have tried to control them. Well, after hours and hours of writing and still not being done, I realized just how long that entry would be. So, I’ve decided to do dedicated entries to specific symptoms and the ways I’ve managed them. Each entry will be tagged “symptom series: *insert name of symptom here*” so if you want to find the entry on say, pain, then go on over to the tag section below my tweets on the right and click on the tag “symptom series: pain” to bring up the entry.
I will also be doing entries on particular tasks and whatnot as well, not just symptoms. I’ll be doing entries on how you can make taking a shower easier and safer, or how to get dressed on your own with particular challenges or symptoms.

Now, there is something I wish I didn’t have to say about any of these, but I do:
Just because a certain technique or drug works or does not work for me, that does not mean it will work or won’t work for you. If I have side effects from a drug, that does not guarantee you will have the same side effects. I have done some things in the past that were not safe, especially related to pain relief. NEVER USE MORE THAN THE RECOMMENDED DOSAGE ON THE PACKAGE, ALWAYS FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS ON THE PACKAGE, and ALWAYS CONSULT WITH YOUR HEALTH CARE PROVIDER BEFORE USING ANY OTC DRUGS, and that includes “natural remedies”. JUST BECAUSE SOMETHING IS CLAIMED TO BE “NATURAL”, THAT DOES NOT MEAN IT DOES NOT CARRY ANY RISKS. Several herbal remedies can have SEVERE REACTIONS WITH PRESCRITION OR OVER THE COUNTER DRUGS and may cause ALLERGIC REACTIONS. “NATURAL” DOES NOT MEAN SAFE. If you are taking an OTC drug on a regular basis, even something as simple as a multivitamin, it is important to tell your doctor (ex: if your doctor wants to check your iron levels and you don’t tell them that you’re taking a multivitamin that has iron in it, then your blood test results will not give the doctor your normal, natural iron levels. SO TELL YOUR DOCTOR EVERYTHING YOU TAKE).

Another important bit I really want to stress:
I do not endorse any particular treatment, OTC or prescription. I in no way shape or form recommend you take one particular drug instead of another, and I do not recommend you stop taking a particular drug just because it does not work for me. I also DO NOT SUPPORT OBTAINING PRESCRIPTION DRUGS WITHOUT A PROPER PRESCRIPTION AND GENUINE REASON FOR OBTAINING THAT PRESCRIPTION. I do not support the use of illegal drugs or alcohol as a means to relieve symptoms. I have a passionate hatred of people who seek out prescription drugs for recreational use. By doing that, you make things much more difficult for the people that actually do need those drugs for symptom relief. If you have an addiction to any substance, seek professional help to overcome your addiction.

I don’t know how much more clear I can be about any of that. I will be putting disclaimers on every single symptom series entry. If you try anything I describe and it does not work for you or you have an adverse reaction to it, I will not be held accountable for it as I am NOT personally suggesting it to you and you do have free will; it is up to you to weight the pros and cons of each course of action and seek professional guidance before attempting any of them. If you find something here that works for you, then wonderful. If not, then I’m sorry but that’s not my fault. Everyone is different and reacts differently to various things. I do not guarantee any of these relief options will work for you or will be safe for you under your particular circumstances.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

