Skip to content

I have no shame *warning: very immature*

May 16, 2011

Today has been an interesting day so far. Before I go any further I should probably warn you: much of this post will involve my crotch. Yes, my crotch, because I have no shame and frankly, something happened today that was actually pretty funny (at least in my sick opinion).

Ok, before we get into that particular discussion (I was going to word that as “before we dive into my crotch” but WOW does that ever sound wrong) I guess I’ll start out with how my day started. I did not sleep well last night because my legs were spazzing out. I tossed and turned all night trying to find a position that would let me support my legs at the right spots and push down a little bit with my feet (normally this helps the tremors a bit, though putting all my weight down does make it worse). When I woke up my legs were extremely stiff and I was curled up in the fetal position. Anytime I wake up like that now I immediately panic because I’m worried that I will wake up like that and not be able to straight my legs out. Thankfully this hasn’t happened too often and today was not one of those days. I had to do a bit more stretching than usual and apply cold for much MUCH longer than usual to get going but hey, at least I could get up and about. My left arm was absolutely killing me though. I got that feeling again where it felt like I smashed my funny bone and the pain spread throughout my entire arm until it felt swollen. Normally this goes away in about 2 hours but this time it was more like 5 hours until it started to go away. My back has been really sore today and I feel kind of blah. Mentally I have a ton of energy and am going a mile a minute, but my body seems to be seriously lacking in the energy department so I can quite get my body to keep up with my brain. I’m blaming it on the weather, it’s a very grey day out and we all feel kind of bleck on grey days.

Ok, now on to the fun stuff. I was on the phone with a friend, when all of a sudden the numbness that I’ve had in my thigh, bumcheek and naughty bits turned into that horrible millions of pins and needles on fire burning sensation. It was insanely intense and extremely sudden, it really caught me off guard. It was so bad I actually yelled, and of course what do we do instinctually when we are suddenly in pain? We guard the area. I must have scared and startled the living daylights out of my friend. So there I am, thankfully in the privacy of my own home, yelling like a lunatic to my poor friend and essentially grabbing my junk. When it really clicked in what was happened and what it must have looked like, I couldn’t stop laughing. It still hurt like crazy, but it only lasted a few minutes until it went back to being numb. When I explained what had happened, she couldn’t stop laughing either. Can you imagine how embarassing that would have been if it happened while on the bus or in a store? Timing is everything I guess, I’m just glad it was on my side this time.

From → Journal

6 Comments
  1. Haha time is seldom on our side, got “lucky” there haha…

  2. Haha ya no kidding! If it does end up happening again I can only hope it’s either not in public or the pins and needles move up my leg as a warning sign first so I know it’s coming 😛

  3. lol* can’t type today ARG

  4. I’m just getting through your blog and learning your story. You don’t have a diagnosis so does that mean you aren’t on any medications? My legs have spasms and spasticity (lucky for me its worse at night when I’m home safe but my poor husband…..lucky we’re newlyweds so we can still laugh about his poor shin bones) but I don’t totally lock up…..I can’t imagine. I get the fire pins & needles but its quick like a twitch (and why does it have to happen in the crotch?????).

  5. That’s right, no medications to help with any of it, not even an antidepressant. The over the counter muscle relaxant I tried for a while did absolutely nothing but give me nightmares (it did work with an injury I had a few years ago), OTC pain relievers don’t really do anything besides damage my stomach. I do take some vitamins (d3, magnesium, and b12) every day but that’s it. Cold packs help but I would much rather be treating the source of all the symptoms or taking something to help out that won’t damage my skin like cold packs (that and it’s really inconvienient to have to stop what I’m doing to put the packs on). Fortunately (or unfortunately, however you want to look at it) I’m single and live alone so I don’t have anyone to keep awake with my spasms 😛 (every now and then I get a full body spasm as I’m about to fall asleep that wakes me up right away and makes me leap off he bed, it sucks).
    Haha, ooh man I don’t know why it has to happen in the crotch but I’m so glad I’m not the only one that gets that! It’s absolutely horrible, my friends have gotten used to me randomly yelping in the middle of a conversation 😛

Leave a Reply

