Skip to content

Good thing I’m not superstitious

May 1, 2011

I didn’t have a single bout of vertigo yesterday, so I got to take a nice little drive through the country last night. It was so nice to be able to get behind the wheel again. It was a perfect night too; warm, lots of stars, not too windy. Lifted my spirits quite a bit.
Also, I got the call for my MRI appointment today. I was expecting to be waiting months for the appointment but to my surprise I’m going on the 13th of this month. That’s Friday the 13th. The secretary I spoke to on the phone made sure to point this out to me and asked if it was ok (apparently quite a few people were refusing to have their appointments on that date. So thanks to the superstitions of other people, I get my scan done earlier). I’m relieved that I finally got the call in some ways, but more anxious in other ways. What if they find something the CT scan missed? Or even worse in my mind, what if they don’t find anything? What if they can’t figure out what is wrong with me? Will the neurologist start ignoring me if nothing shows up, pegging me as a psych patient? And what if they find something that requires them do to a lumbar puncture (spinal tap)? I’m dreading that so much. I’m trying to just keep everything shoved to the back of my mind, but it’s eating away at me. It’s hard to ignore something like this.

From → Journal

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

