Skip to content

114 days

April 26, 2011

That’s how long the wait time is in Ontario for an MRI. It will be 4 weeks tomorrow since I saw the neurologist. Needless to say I’m frustrated. While looking for the website that gives wait times (will update the resources post with the link) I found a lot of messages boards with people asking for wait times because they wanted to have a mild injury checked out (which had already been confirmed with other, more appropriate testing, like x-rays, and had already started treatments) because they wanted to get back into playing the sport that caused the injury. It took a tremendous amount of willpower to not register for those message boards just to tell those people off. This is a massive waste of time and money. Stop clogging up the system and go down to the states and pay for the test yourself if you want an elective, completely unnecessary test. There are people waiting months to get a diagnostic test done for life changing conditions, and you trying to jump the line at every chance doesn’t help.
Clearly I’ve been quite angry lately. I’m angry about having to wait for this test, sitting here getting worse. I’m angry about things I’ve had to give up on because of this condition, I’m angry about getting sores on my palm from having to wear a wristbrace every day, angry about not being able to do something as basic as stand up while taking a shower. I’m angry about having to take several pills every day that I know will eventually damage my stomach because I can’t get treated for the cause of my symptoms yet. I’m angry about some people who I thought cared about me using this condition to throw a pity party for themselves. I’m genuinely disgusted by a lot of people right now and since I’m not one to hold my tongue, they know it. You know who you are, and I hope you are repulsed by yourself. Not very likely though…

From → Journal

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

