Skip to content

I’m not dead yet

February 1, 2012

School has kept me very, VERY busy so I haven’t had much time to write anything that isn’t an essay or lab report. Despite being so busy though and the amount of tests I have coming up, things are going really smoothly. I’m managing stress much better than last semester, eating healthier, and getting more exercise. Despite the amount of work, I’ve been good about having me-time regularly. I’m a bit shocked at how much better I’m doing this semester in terms of grades (OMG I UNDERSTAND PHYSICS! I’m probably going to jinx myself, but I never thought I’d be an A student in physics). This can definitely be attributed to the increased energy level, significant reduction in pain, new study methods, and clearing cog fog.

I’m taking 400 mg of gabapentin per day, and the side effects are gone. It’s working very well for me, but I have to stick to timing my doses strictly. If I wait too long to take it or miss a dose, I can definitely feel it (usually deep, aching pain in my legs like I was beaten with a baseball bat and my skin gets extremely sensitive to touch). If feeling this good means taking 4 pills a day for the rest of my life, well I’m just fine with that.

I’m not as worried about my future since I have a more thorough plan laid out for my education with multiple fallback options. I’m going to start going through some MCAT prep stuff during reading week. Aiming pretty damn high, I know, but that one is more out of curiosity (I want to see how well I could possibly do). The plan I’m hoping for most involves a BA in a field of biology to start with.

Off for now, work to do, lectures to attend. Hopefully it won’t be so long between posts.

From → Journal

4 Comments
  1. So glad to hear you are feeling better! :D

  2. OK so you take 4 pills a day. Are they evenly spaced apart or do you take say 2 at a time? Just curious!

  3. @multiplesclerosis1209 thanks :)
    Matt: I take 2 at a time, in the morning and at night. I started out at the 400 mg a day that way at the suggestion of my doctor (easier to remember when its just 2 doses instead of 4, before bed and with breakfast instead of during the day when i’m all over the place), but because of the way i feel in the morning before it kicks in and the way i feel at night when its fading out, i’m going to be switching to 1 pill 4x a day, just to keep the level a bit more constant instead of two spikes in levels per day. i’ll just have to put reminders on my phone or something so i dont forget them when im at school.

  4. I want to do something similar but I can’t even handle one pill in the middle of the day, even with reminders on my phone somehow I mess it up but I am finding that the 300mg in the AM and 300 in the PM is not enough…. Si ugh, idk what to do…. NEED to get in with my doctor, got to remember to call tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

